Back to the Grind

Most people who have been around me the past few weeks know that before I went to Nationals I was looking forward to a whole lot of lounging and eating following the race. But I guess that will have to wait until September!

My weakness.

I took Monday after the race off to let it all sink in and give myself a little recovery. I was feeling great with minimal soreness minus the disgusting blood blister on my foot because of the soggy conditions of the race (Props to my cousin Lindsay who forced me to face my fears and popped it for me!).

My amazing cousin, cheering section and blister popper, Lindsay!

So on Tuesday I went in to TriFit to get on the spin bike and loosen my legs up. Four minutes into the ride, I was whimpering like a baby. My muscles were suddenly sore and screaming! Sometimes I tend to overdo it because I want to get strong and FAST so I had to remind myself that I had just raced a few days prior!

But Wednesday morning I was up and ready for our weekly track workouts from Coach Bernard and TriFit MultiSport. I’m not lying when I say “I LOVE THE TRACK WORKOUTS”. We’re done by 7:45 am and I already feel so accomplished! Coach Bernard recommended I do a modified version of the workout so I ran a 1600, 1200, 800, 400 and 1600 with 1/2 mile warm up and cool down. All this done while decreasing our mile pace by 20 seconds each set. And I felt good after that so I knew I was ready to get back to training!

Yesterday was a spin/strength day. It felt great! I honestly love spinning! It truly was the first athletic thing I did after my amputation where I felt free and maybe even stronger than the girl next to me with TWO WHOLE FEET! Ya, I could kick her booty in a class! Anyway, I had a great workout! I was definitely motivated by the number of people who had viewed my blog already! I know you are out there reading so thank you!

Today I’ll get back in the pool and see how I am feeling about that. The benefit of this race in Beijing is that it is a sprint distance rather than Olympic. The race in New York was Olympic distance so the swim was 1 mile which was sooo intimidating to me when I started training. Beijing will be a shorter swim which makes me feel more confident. Growing up in Southern California, you swim and you hang out at the beach and pools but getting in a race environment where you have to swim is SO different. I did a lot of work on my swimming technique before Nationals with Coach Bernard and it helped so much! I went from feeling confident about swimming just 200 yards to swimming 1600! WOOOO! Another example of how training pays off!

A huge shout-out to yesterday’s donors: my wonderful aunt and uncle, Karen and David; my amazing grandparents, Grandma Geri and Grandpa Fred; my grandma, Mema; Sarah Federico; Christine Tanner; and Rose Burgett!

Follow their lead and donate at http://raceforareason2011.kintera.org/DaniellegoestoWorlds. Everything helps! Seriously.

2 thoughts on “Back to the Grind

  1. Alex Sarnow says:

    I always have trouble getting back into training after a race. Keep up the good work! Good luck!

  2. bridget says:

    good luck Danielle! I am using Nancy’s email address……

    Love,
    Bridget

Leave a Reply

