Columbia Muddy Buddy- In a word: FUN.

A few weeks ago, CAF was looking for an athlete in the Los Angeles area to head out to San Dimas for the Columbia Muddy Buddy Race. They emailed me and I jumped at the chance! You see, I’ve been dying (I’m serious. DYING.) to do a mud run for a while. But I was worried about ruining my running leg or falling, etc. But this time I couldn’t say no!

Knowing that this was the type of race you do with friends, I invited my friend Melissa to do it with me. Not that you would call it a race but I knew it would be much more fun getting disgustingly muddy with a friend.

Going into the weekend, it was raining. A LOT. I know many of you will think I’m exaggerating about the rain. Yes. It is Southern California but I swear it was raining! It rained all weekend in fact. Heading out to San Dimas on Sunday morning, I started to get worried about how much rain there had been all weekend. Here are just a few of the concerns that went through my mind:

Was I going to destroy this running leg that had propelled me to so much success?

Was I even going to be able to do this? (This is a constant question for me: Can I do this? And I always try- I mean you have to. And usually I can do it.)

As we arrive, I can hear the MC paging me from afar. I had to sprint down to the stage because I was there to accept a check on behalf of CAF! So there I was running down the steepest hill I think I have had to run down since I starting running again and slipping and sliding all over the place. But I made it!

The run was insane. It was a trail run and because it had rained for 3 straight days, it was MUDDY. I could barely keep my footing to run so we ended up walking a lot of it. The major reason I couldn’t get my footing is because I had no traction coming off of my running leg. Thank goodness Melissa was there because I basically used her as a crutch the whole time. We basically had a pattern: run up the hill, walk (or slide- you choose) down the hill, run on the flats to the obstacle courses. I was able to do a majority of the obstacles. I took some maneuvering since most of these obstacles required climbing over large walls but I did it! The last section was the dreaded mud pit. This was what I was most nervous for. But thankfully, Bob Babbit (founder of Competitor Magazine and founding member of CAF) was there as I headed toward the mud pit. He grabbed my running leg from me and someone was waiting for me at the end. Seriously, so thankful for that! The pit was sooooo muddy. I mean disgusting. But I loved every second of it!

Melissa and I after the mud run. We hosed off a bit before the picture so you could see our faces!

All in all it was such a great time! If you have the opportunity to participate in a Muddy Buddy event- DO IT! It is so much fun. I’ll definitely be doing another one soon!

One thought on “Columbia Muddy Buddy- In a word: FUN.

  1. Mike Smith says:

    I saw you two at the race, you looked like you were having a lot of fun! Here’s some photos: http://phototrekker.smugmug.com/Sports/Muddy-Buddy-Race-Los-Angeles/i-p6k3C8g/0/M/Muddy-Buddy-Part-Two-239-M.jpg

Leave a Reply

