Adventures in… Swimming?

I know I know. Weeks and weeks (maybe months?) ago I promised that each week I would post an “Adventures in Running” story since I’m a tool and silly things happen to me while running. I haven’t kept my promise. Sorry!

This morning while I was SWIMMING I thought to myself, “Hey. Maybe we should substitute swimming for running so all those people (Like there are so many of you! I’m still delusional.) reading your blog can see what you are up to.”

Warning: Swimming is not NEARLY as amusing as running. You don’t have nearly as many interactions (or none) with dogs, crazy tourists, or cars. Just sayin’. Don’t expect to pee your pants laughing over these swimming posts. Again, I’m sorry. This isn’t really an adventure. (Grumble grumble grumble)

So. In case you are living in a cave, I do not especially enjoy swimming. It feels like I am walking to my death every time I walk those 8 stairs up to the pool at TriFit. Swimming is also MOST DEFINITELY my weakness in the three portions of a triathlon.

Several people have commented (cough cough my coach, Bernard) that I should take this down time from the bike/run to focus on my swimming and learn to enjoy it and get better. While I hate this idea, I am trying to embrace it.

So, for the past month I have been swimming 3-5 times a week. (Also, my physical therapist says swimming reduces swelling. Reduce swelling=Danielle running.) I bumped into Coach Bernard several weeks ago after a swim. He told me to call him so we could get back in the pool.

I didn’t call.

I’ll tell you why. Pool workouts are hard. He kicks my butt. I practically hyperventilate and think I’m about to drown every time I go there for a training session with him. And I had taken SOOOOOOO much time off from swimming after Beijing to stare at my gold medal (I’m kidding. But REALLY that’s what I do these days- reminisce about the good old days.). When I say time off I mean I didn’t swim from September to January. Okay, I lied. I swam twice. Oops.

Anyway, my thought process went like this. I can’t call Bernard because his swim workouts are scary. I’ll start training in the pool on my own and regain my confidence/endurance in the pool. THEN I’LL CALL. But only once I’m ready. So I swam a bunch using old workouts he had given me. And I started to like swimming again. And I even started to feel like I swimming not just flailing around pretending to be a swimmer. YAY! (Be real. I don’t LOVE it. Don’t get crazy.)

And then I bumped into him again. So guys, tomorrow morning I will rise and shine to get my butt kicked. Pray for me.

Leave a Reply

