MAJOR PROGRESS

Last Friday, I met with my coach to discuss swimming and what I would focus on to get my training rolling. He gave me a swim workout. It was hard. REALLY HARD.

I swam on Saturday and Sunday. I almost died both times. First, it was raining. Normally this would be fine because I swim at TriFit and it is an indoor pool. But I went home. And the lap pool at home is OUTSIDE. OUTSIDE. So I had to swim in the pouring rain. It was also cold. Every time my arm came out of the water to stroke, it froze. There was steam coming off of the pool. I tried to pretend that I was practicing for “potential race conditions”. This is kind of true because if you recall it was raining during the swim last year at Nationals.

Anyway the swim was H-A-R-D. About halfway through I thought I was going to pass out I was so tired. Since my surgery, my energy levels are pretty low. These swim workouts are helping me work my way back up but jeesh. I swam for an hour and 15 minutes and had to come home and nap I was so tired. Pathetic.

Oh but it is not JUST swimming. Immediately after I jump out of the pool I’m doing some strength workouts with rubber bands. I’m tired just writing about it.

Now on to the BEST NEWS EVER!

On Sunday, I came back up to LA from San Diego. It was sunny, I was feeling semi-normal and thought, You know what? I’m just going to try to see if I can get my running leg on. And then I did. It fit! WOO! So then I thought, Well, if it feels fine, why not run for 15 minutes?

SO I DID!

So you heard it hear first. I am running again. Definitely not at the level I was at. But running. Well I’ve only done it twice. But still we all know running makes me happy.

And I won a pair of Nikes on Tuesday. YES. Free stuff is the best.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

