Challenging Myself Beyond Endurance Sports

Over the past year, I’ve taken a big step back from running. I wasn’t really enjoying it like I once had and to be quite honest, my body wasn’t tolerating 7, 8, and 9 mile runs anymore. But, of course, I couldn’t sit around and do nothing.

After Christmas, I spent a few days in Utah where I snowboarded for the first time since college. It was fun (if you think falling is fun) and challenging for me. Having grown up skiing and living in Colorado, it reminded me how much I love the snow and the feeling of being on the chairlift and seeing the mountain below me. So after returning home, I started researching programs that offer adaptive ski instruction. I found out about the Torrey Pines Kiwanis Ski Scholarship Program that provides disabled athletes with the opportunity to go to Durango, CO for a week and ski with the Adaptive Sports Association (ASA). I applied and was selected to participate for a week in February.

It was amazing. This time I decided to ski because that is what I had grown up doing and I was finding snowboarding very difficult for me because I was unable to maneuver my prosthetic appropriately for snowboarding. I am so happy I decided to ski because I picked it right back up and had a blast skiing for 4 straight days. I was fortunate to be there with ASA and they were so welcoming! Every person was so friendly and helpful. They are doing great things at ASA- each day they have students of all ages in to ski that have a variety of physical and cognitive challenges.

IMG_0761

 

While there, I had a ski instructor (or 2!) with me each day while I skied Purgatory. MJ was awesome. She challenged me when I needed to be challenged and we explored the mountain all week! Plus, she works for one of the National Parks and was able to give me lessons on the geology and wildlife around.

I also stayed with a wonderful host family, Carol and Mike. It was a really nice week with them as well and I finished the week by making them my famous enchiladas!

There is something so wonderful about growing up in Colorado and then getting off a plane and spending time in the crisp, fresh mountain air. After enjoying my time in Colorado, I decided that next year I will definitely be skiing more!

Leave a Reply

